Press release | ECRIN welcomes Greece, its newest Member

Greece Membership announcement

We are very proud to announce that Greece has officially joined ECRIN-ERIC as a Member country. The hub of the Greek network, GreCRIN, will be hosted at the Centre for Research and Technology, Hellas (CERTH) in Thessaloniki. The ECRIN Assembly of Members approved the membership of Greece, and will be joined by Kostas Stamatopoulos, Research Director of the Institute of Applied Biosciences at CERTH.

Kostas Stamatopoulos“We are excited that Greece is now part of the ECRIN community. We envision GreCRIN as an integrative inclusive Research Infrastructure for clinical research in Greece, connecting hospitals and patient associations, universities, research centers, ministries, industries and enterprises. Our aim is to constitute the basis for the upscaling of clinical research in Greece and Southeast Europe at large and create a point of reference for clinical research excellence, driven by the needs of the society.” 
-Kostas Stamatopoulos, Head of GreCRIN.


ECRIN has worked with Greek scientific partners on various projects, and ECRIN’s Operations Director, Christine Kubiak, is extremely delighted to take this collaboration to the next level. Working together with the Greek scientific community, and building a structuring Greek network for multinational clinical research is in line with ECRIN’s mission and vision.

Christine KubiakWe are thrilled to welcome the Greek clinical research community to the ECRIN network. We look forward to working closely with the specialists at CERTH and across the country, to building the Greek partner network together, and to evolve on the excellent track record of the Greek scientific community for the benefit of multinational clinical research in Europe.” 
-Christine Kubiak, Operations Director, ECRIN.

To commence this new scientific collaboration, Greece has been selected as the host country for International Clinical Trial Days 2024. The ICTD 2024 event will be co-hosted by ECRIN and GreCRIN with the support of the Centre for Research and Technology, Hellas (CERTH), and is set to take place in Thessaloniki on May 2024.

With Greece joining ECRIN as a Member country, ECRIN now has a total of 13 Member and Observer states. ECRIN’s network now counts: Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Slovakia and Switzerland. The total reach of the ECRIN network has grown to over 361 million European citizens, with an average of 6.5 countries per trial.